Tuesday, December 23, 2008

A Highschool Prison

I'm pretty sure I'm physically fit - but aparently I'm not. For those who don't know, it is required to take a PE course every trimester for 4 years. There are ways to get out of it of course, like playing a sport, taking an academic wavier, even PLAYING IN THE BAND will get you out of PE class. But of course I am behind in PE credits. If you dont have enough credits in PE, you won't graduate.

Which brings me to the reason why I bring up the topic of PE...

I am one of the many people who have fallen behind on PE credits over the four years I have been in highschool. So, of course, my senior year - the one year you are not required to take a PE course if you have a full scedual - I am stuck taking PE EVERY DAY!

PE class would not be that bad if they didn't treat you like convicts! The bell rings and you hear a shout from the closet "office" saying, "LINE UP!" So we all do as we are told and line up on the number that was given to us. There isn't a roll call, just a number call - in PE class we don't have names, we have numbers. After the student (convicts) line up; we are dissmissed to go change in the locker rooms. In order to change, we are given about 8-10 min. then we are expected back on our numbers to ensure the teachers (officers) that we have not left class (escaped). Again we are checked to show that we have accually changed clothes and ready for an intense day of gym class. For 10 minuets, timed, we run. We run in a big circle and are watched by these "teachers" and wait for the next whistle to blow. When we hear the whistle that tells us to stop running - we are expected to pick one activity of four. About 20 minuets pass while we are doing our various activities - when the second to last whistle is heard, insisting that we go and change back to our "school clothes". And again, we line up, proving to these teachers (officers) that we are infact STILL there and have not left class (run away).

I have never been to prison, but I'm sure it is something like a highschool PE class.

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Rule the School

Do you remember that first day off school, being pushed around by the upper classman- THE SENIORS? Do you remember that first football game, ordered to move back to make room for seniors in the front of the student section? Do you remember looking down upon or being called a "freshy" in the hallways?

I DO
That first day of school as a freshman- I was terrified. I clung to my volleyball teammates and barely made eye-contact with anyone who was not familiar to me. When someone shoved me in the halls to get by, I didn't resist the shove; I allowed it!

Well it is my chance to be a senior. Someone that the new kids look up to, someone who knows what's going on, someone who knows the school. My first day of being a SENIOR was much different than my first day of highschool 4 years ago. I walk into the school; nodding, smiling, hugging and chatting with friends I hadn't seen all summer. Some that I was just in class with and some that knew of me. I felt like I was being watched by the scared freshman.
Senior year - it's the year that everyone looks forward to.

You've heard it before. either from a school teacher, a parent, a friends mom or a Sunday-school teacher- "Respect your elders!". This is one tip that no new freshman should forget. Your time will come to be a senior and that year you will never forget. To those who have had thier senior year-I bet you'll never forget it.

It's senior year- time to rule the school!

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Going Back to the Basics

So you may have stumbled on this blog, you may be my teacher who is grading my blog (counting words and blog post) or you may be one of my MANY followers and be a constant "blog reader". Whoever you are - I appologize that I haven't told you about myself and this blog before I began to post. Let's start with the basics...

My name is Leah. I am currently in highschool; waiting to bust through the doors and walk across the stage and recieve the one paper that I have been waiting for the entire four years I have been in highschool. From grade Preschool to 8th Grade I attended a private school where there were about 20 people to a class. When I transfered to highschool I was not in a class of 20 anymore, I was one in 500 freshman!

As I began to be involved in sports and clubs, I met many new people ( seeing as EVERYONE in the school was a stranger to me besides the 2 that transfered to my highschool from my private school with me). I met new people AND I learned the basics of highschool. Which brings me to the point of this post...
THE BASICS - Stereotypes, PE class, Lunch, Teachers, Sports,
Clubs, Things to know BEFORE entering highschool.

This blog is called "As We Know It..." because it is highschool in my eyes. Yes, everyone has different opinions about highschool - and by reading my blog you will see my opinion of one thing that many human beings have in common, school! Don't be scared away - I'm not going to bore you with talk about calculus or physics or talk about "how much homework I am going to have this weekend"; Nope, this blog will be interesting, fun, hilarious, simple - I'm just going back to the basics.

Wednesday, December 3, 2008

First Day Fun

The first day of highschool is a tough, exciting, interesting, confusing, pointless, long and fun day. Some may enjoy the site of the friends they hadn't seen all summer. For some people the fun part of the day is going to class for the first time in 2 months. There are those who look forward to the first day because they get to wear thier new clothes and show off thier new school supplies. For me, the best part of the day is watching the new freshman scramble through the halls, running to thier lockers- throwing the books in and snatching the ones for the next class- then dashing to the next class.

We all enjoy different parts of the first day of school; but the common thought in every highschooler's head is the reminder that summer is 22o DAYS AWAY. We get our books piled on the first day and for the unlucky ones; we even get homework the first day.

As teens- we just want to socialize; expecially that first day. We meet new people, we talk to old friends and we laugh about what we did that past weekend. Teachers on the other hand- apparently don't understand. They spend a good 90% of the class period hushing and quieting students- trying to control the cHaOs.

That first day we see who will be in our classes, who will be our "friend", who we are going to sit by, who we DEFINENTLY don't want to work on a project with and who will be teaching us for the next 2 1/2 months. Yes, the first day of highschool we see a "glimpse of our future" at our school- the place we will be spending a good 7 hours at EVERY DAY! (except weekends of course)

Some may get more deperessed going back to school instead of excited- my suggestion- watch those scared freshman wander the halls and remember that you are not anylonger a frightfull freshman, just trying to make it to class on time!

Ahhh... you've just gotta love highschool.