Thursday, February 12, 2009

Blogging Blog

If you didn't know...this blog is for my PERSPECTIVES CLASS. So sorry readers, I am required to blog about; blogging. So here we go...

Blogging is alot funner, cooler, easier, more interesting and entertaining than writting in a notebook. Here we can mess with

COLOR

FONT

FONT SIZE

LAYOUT
APPERENCE OF WORDS....................................................................................BOLD...ITALICIZED

AND YOU CAN ADD MEDIA










I think that this is the best and smartest desicion for an assignment that I have ever gotten. Everyone seems to love it and enjoy it, and you can read your friends blogs!

The Emotional Emo


Emo use to be the adjective used to discribe music. It use to discribe a genre of hardcor punk and pop punk music. So why is it that we use the word now to discribe people?

Today emo is commonly tied to both music and fashion as well as an inspiration toward the emo subculture, and the term "emo" is sometimes stereotyped with tight jeans on males and females alike, long fringe (bangs) brushed to one side of the face or over one or both eyes, dyed black, straight hair, tight t-shirts (usually short-sleeved) which often bear the names of emo bands (or other designer shirts), studded belts, belt buckles, canvas sneakers or skate shoes or other black shoes and thick, black horn-rimmed glasses.This fashion has at times been characterized as a FAD. Early on, emo fashion was associated with a clean cut lookbut as the style spread to younger teenagers, the style has become darker, with long bangs and emphasis on the colour black replacing sweatervests.In recent years the popular media have associated emo with a stereotype that includes being emotional, sensitive or shy. It is also associated with depression, self-injury, and suicide.

Don’t worry! Not all “emos” are suicidal or cut themselves. That is just a stereotype! Personally, I think that emo hair is cool. I even now have blond, brown and blue hair. The emo style appeals to some; me included. The emos show their personality through their apperence. AND THAT IS COOL! Sometimes I just wish I didn’t care what people thought or wasn’t so insecure in how I look.

Who knows, maybe one day I too will become an EMO!

Differences Alike

So as I entered high school, I quickly realized that there are many different types of people in this world. There are those who play sports – that’s it – and sports are their life. They wake up early in the morning to come to the school and lift weights to be in shape for a sport, they eat healthy food to stay in shape for their sport ; some even play a different sport just so that they will be in shape whenever it is time for THEIR sport to be in season. These kids, I like to call jocks.

Another type of person is the kids who may only take a shower once a week. They come to school and don’t care what they look like and don’t care what people think about their appearance. In our school they seem to hang around the gym or the right corner of our foyer. I had never stereotyped these kids before until I came to high school, where I learned that they are called “the dirties”.

Kids who walk around with different colored hair and baggy clothes were a new type of person to me too. Some do their makeup drastically, some where crazy clothes and some of their hair is styled wacky. These kids I have learned are called “emo”

In high school, you can be whoever you want to be and there will always be someone there to be a friend; either if you want to be a jock, a snob, a prep, a dirty, a teacher’s pet or an emo.

Sunday, February 8, 2009

It's My Choice

SEX --- Every teen has to learn about it in one way or another. Either if it is by watching a movie or TV, or from a parent or friend, or by a sex-ed teacher handing out condoms.For some reason the word sex makes my stomach flutter, like I'm a little girl again who found out a boy likes me. The topic just seems to be an uncomfortable topic, and a topic that I was prevented to know about while I grew up. No, I don't giggle anymore when someone talks about it and I don't blush when someone says the word "sex".

Teachers - Parents ; we know about the risks. We know that we may conceive a baby or get an STD. We understand the consequences. And the older I get, the more choices I want to make by myself. I dont just want to make a choice about sex or drugs or school - I want to decide for myself where I go to hang out and who I hang out with. I want to be able to be responsible enough to get enough sleep for school the next day and know my parents won't be staying up and waiting in the living room for me to come home. Growing up means being independent and making decisions, right or wrong.

So fellow students, go out there and make decisions and think about what you want in life.

A Common Love

There is one thing in my school that seems to connect an emo kid with a teacher's pet or a geek with a jock, and that is Xbox.

Personally, I don't play - I watch. My boyfriends was way addicted to Xbox. He played Call of Duty 4 and Halo 3 and Gears of War 2 all the time. Not to my knowlege until he started attending my school, did I find out EVERYONE plays Xbox! I never realized that when people talked about headshots and needlers, powning and lagging - that they were talking about video games.

I watch my boyfriend play alot. I've learned the lingo, I can now offically use "rapped" and "noobs" in a sentence correctly. I've never played but what I have done is put the headset on and listen/talk to people playing with my boyfriend. Xbox talk is like a whole different language - its like a language of hate and anger. I don't think a sentence is said with out profanity in it! Is it the game that makes the players angry or is it the players who are angry play Xbox?

I guess I will never know. But if you ever want to stay connected with your fellow classmates and have a fun game of Spartans killing eachother than Xbox may be the game system for you!

My Highschool Sweetheart

One question has clouded my mind for the last 2 weeks or so. A question that may never be answered until my life is over, until I'm living my after life and able to look back on the life I lived on Earth. This question may be one question that everyone asks themselves when they find a person that they care about, that they may love and want to spend the rest of thier lives with....

Is there only one true love for everyone; only one person out there who was made for you?

If "God" created every person to have one true love, than what would happen if we lost them? What would happen if we had never found them or if something didn't work out?

Well finally I found the answer to my question. I have decided that there is only one person who is made for you. Adam had Eve, Romeo had Juliet, and Jack had Rose.

All I have to say is; don't settle for less. Somewhere out there is your prince or princess. Someone who will love you even when you make mistakes. Some one who thinks your perfect even though he/she knows your flaws. There is someone out there who can read your mind and know what your thinking by looking in your eyes. That person is out there; I found mine.